Great Price
OnBuy has detected this to be a great price compared to other websites.
Under a Pole Star

Share

Under a Pole Star

Condition New
£14.68
£18.99
Save 23%
+£11.98 Delivery
Delivery to: United States
Standard Delivery £11.98 Est. Delivery 15th-20th Jun
In Stock
Sold By Speedyhen, there is 1 other seller
  • We verify all of our sellers
  • Secure checkout powered by PayPal
  • All major credit cards accepted
  • 30-day returns as standard OnBuy's minimum returns period is 30 days for most products. There are however some exceptions e.g. perishable goods, personalised items etc. Please read our T&Cs for more information.

Compare Sellers

  • New from £14.68
Delivery To: United States
Seller Ratings Warranty Returns Price Delivery Total
(503 reviews)
-
30 Days
Free Returns: No
£14.98 This seller does not ship to your selected delivery location. Add To Basket
(357 reviews)
-
30 Days
Free Returns: No
£14.68 +£11.98 Delivery
Est. Delivery: 15th-20th Jun
£26.66 Add To Basket
Description & Details

Under a Pole Star Description

Stef Penney, COSTA WINNING AUTHOR of THE TENDERNESS OF WOLVES, returns to the Arctic with 'A dazzling tale of romance and survival' (Guardian.) Perfect for fans of THE ESSEX SERPENT and TO THE BRIGHT EDGE OF THE WORLD. '[Penney writes] with a persuasive and appealing hunger ...there is a touch of Donna Tartt here' The Times 'In the masterfully evoked Arctic landscape and in her depictions of sex ...she finds her true, dazzling stride' Guardian' Flora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of twelve. In 1889, the whaler's daughter from Dundee - dubbed by the press 'The Snow Queen' - sets out to become a scientist and explorer. She struggles to be taken seriously but determination and chance lead her back to northern Greenland at the head of a British expedition, despite the many who believe that a young woman has no place in this harsh world of men. Geologist Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan. Yearning for wider horizons, he joins a rival expedition, led by the furiously driven Lester Armitage. When Jakob and Flora's paths cross, it is a fateful meeting. All three become obsessed with the north, a place where violent extremes exist side by side: perpetual night and endless day; frozen seas and coastal meadows; heroism and lies. Armitage's ruthless desire to be the true leader of polar discovery takes him and his men on a mission whose tragic outcome will reverberate for years to come. Set against the stark, timeless beauty of northern Greenland, and fin-de-siecle New York and London, Under a Pole Star is a compelling look at the dark side of the 'golden age' of exploration, a study of the corrosive power of ambition, and an epic, incendiary love story. It shows that sometimes you have to travel to the furthest edge of the world in order to find your true place in it.

Details

OPC P6GRSR
Codes 1786481162 (ISBN-10)
9781786481160 (ISBN)
Links Books

Detailed Product Information

AuthorStef Penney
PublisherQuercus Publishing
Book TypeHardback
Release Date03/11/2016

Familiarise Yourself With Under a Pole Star

A sizeable range of goods on our eCommerce marketplace are offered by several sellers and this Under a Pole Star has 2 stocking it here for you to purchase. Shop this wonderful item for only £14.68 - brought to you by our trusted online retailer, Speedyhen, who has lots more excellent products here on our marketplace.

Our sellers can send the item you're looking at to 21 delivery locations currently, with more locations to come as soon as further partners are able to list on it. Customers can also find out which location it is sent from by looking at the seller table. On OnBuy, you can come across many delivery services and various delivery fees on this item - meaning it's ideal for customers who like lots of options! Shoppers who would wish to get this item ASAP will certainly be relieved to hear that express postage is available. Not fussed? Simply go for the default delivery service if you prefer!

Reasons To Shop With OnBuy
  • We verify all of our sellers
  • Secure checkout powered by PayPal
  • All major credit cards accepted
  • 30-day returns as standard OnBuy's minimum returns period is 30 days for most products. There are however some exceptions e.g. perishable goods, personalised items etc. Please read our T&Cs for more information.
Browse All Books Deals

OnBuy Deals Recommended For You

Sign in to view all of your delivery addresses

OR

Enter your delivery address

Save your items for later!

Simply enter your email address below and we'll send you a copy of your basket to your inbox.

No thanks